top of page

Sesame All The Things


This is a highly caloric tweak on my Cashew Milk & Cottage Cheese base, itself sugar free and low in fat (if not fat free, depending on cottage cheese used). This particular variant used gelatin instead of agar agar as the optional stabilizer. To half of the base (other half was French Vanilla'ed), i.e. what would typically be two servings, I added:

- 3 oz (about 3/4 cup) sesame flour, which was blended into 1/2 c of the cashew milk ahead of time

- Tahini to taste, guessing between 1/4 c to 1/3 c - 2 T honey, 1 t molasses

- 2 T vanilla pudding mix (to make extra sure this would be rich and creamy, probably didn't need it)

- Pinch cinnamon

- Extra salt I forgot to add a few drops of sesame oil.

Don't forget to adjust the sweetness when everything has been added, as these add-ins probably increase the volume of the base by 50%. You really want to layer the sesame flavors with both the flour and the tahini, as the former is more of a delicate halvah note whereas the tahini has a richer, more caramelized flavor. I topped this with Ming Tsai's sesame brittle, which is like playing chicken twice: once to toast the sesame seeds, and again with the caramel. My first attempt was too pale and a bit greasy, so my second attempt used less butter and a bit more sugar (3.5 T to 1/2 c + 1 T for a half-batch). The sauce is just a tahini, maple syrup blend, and water blend (2:2:1) with a hint of salt, heated gently to combine and cooled completely. A bit thick...

This was ridiculously rich, creamy, and magical. I couldn't quite finish my bowl but gleefully went in to polish it off first thing in the morning. I have no shame.

bottom of page