top of page

Holiday Baking Withdrawal: Missing Mincemeat

Ah, January. I acutely feel the pangs of baking withdrawal after what seems like weeks spent in the kitchen. It is a necessary separation, if for no other reason than #januarypants. What, you don't have January pants? My slacks and jeans are sorted by size/fit: on one end are those with which I begin the semester, and on the other are "Don't even look at these right now." In the middle, "Maybe, but are you sure you want to do this to yourself right now?" Aside from the need to shred (actually, recomp, this year), there's the very concrete time crunch placed by a new semester. It brings with it a brand new cohort of students, whom I hope will prove themselves worthy of my baking. They will at least afford me a relief from baking withdrawal that doesn't invite eating what I make. Really, I'm so blasée about brownies and chocolate chip cookies that they hardly tempt me. If my students were to ask me to go Ottolenghi/Yeh on these and infuse them with sesame? I could not be held responsible for my actions. Another, less time-consuming way of easing baking withdrawal is to look toward future bakes. You better believe my birthday project is brewing. Also, Valentine's day. By then, I'll have cleared the #januarypants hurdle. Looking backward is also enjoyable. In that vein, please enjoy a souvenir from Christmas that never did get a chance to bask in the spotlight.

The sweet shortcrust pastry was from Paul Hollywood, of course. For the pastry-challenged turned pastry-anxious, it was reassuring to turn to one of his recipes yet again. It did not fail me (though my oven did, slightly -- still running too hot). I went with star decorations rather than full tops, and made frangipane toppings for a few.

Be still, my heart.

The mincemeat was a hybrid of Frugal Feeding and Joy of Baking. For my first time ever making or even tasting the stuff, I wasn't feeling quite bold enough to go the suet route, much less add meat. Maybe one day. Let me just say this stuff is pure festive deliciousness that I cannot believe I have lived without all these years. When it was time to make the mince pies at Christmas, I barely had enough left for a single batch because I had been spooning some over ice cream, ricotta, etc. Another way to counter baking withdrawal, while also dealing with the leftover holiday dried and candied fruit: make vats of this. It keeps well in the refrigerator, but I'll try pressure canning.

These pies were served warm with a smattering of vanilla brandy butter (BBC). Good pairing, but I found the brandy taste a tad too strong for these pies, but mostly because I just wanted to become one with the mincemeat. Much of the brandy butter ended up adorning biscuits, which needn't the spotlight anyway, instead. I might've put some on the fruitcake, too.

Mincemeat, I love you. Come back soon.

But... Pants.

Stay tuned for some Being Good updates of all sorts as I work more -- loads more -- vegan protein into my diet in various surprisingly tasty ways and work to adapt some staples (dairy-free Faux-lo, anyone?) to my intolerances and body recomposition goals. Because an excellent way of dealing with withdrawal is to tweak and perfect the healthy stuff.

bottom of page