top of page

The Quickie Oatcake: Microwave method


I'll be honest, guys, making all these Alternative Foods to keep myself loaded up with protein and fiber was getting a little tedious. These days, I make a cashew ice milk, (pr)oatcakes, a protein spread, and TVP puddings - all of which I normally consume daily. Baking proatcakes for 40 minutes was getting annoying, and was forcing me to plan ahead more than I'd like. I could ease off of these things, which I don't really need (but they do help fill the void left by obnoxious food intolerances and a need to crank up protein on a calorie-restricted diet). Enter the quickie oatcake. Because it cooks so quickly, it doesn't need the additional structure from protein powders or erythritol to avoid collapsing. The texture is light, fluffy, and a bit moist. They'll often come out a bit misshapen, and might have one odd large bubble on the inside, but that sort of inconsistency is a small price to pay for the speed of prep.

I've been meaning to explore vegan egg substitutes for oatcakes... Given that these are more robust than the slowly baked variant, it might be easier to substitute aquafaba or the like...

It reminds me of some of the nondescript sponge cakes (steamed) you can get in Chinatown bakeries. These are quite lovely topped with a protein spread or some sugar free jam. Convenience aside, I just might be enjoying their fine, moist crumb more than my proatcakes these days.

Quickie Oatcake

2 servings, each approx. 32 cal (15g fiber, 5 g protein, negligible carbs) 45g white oat fiber

1/4 c (6g) sucralose

2 t psyllium husk powder

1 t konjac glucomannan

1 t baking powder

1/2 t guar

1/3 c egg whites

2/3 c water

1 t extract of some sort

Whisk the dry ingredients together in a small rectangular microwavable container*. In a small mixing bowl, combine the wet ingredients and fold in the dry ingredients until fully combined. Transfer back to the plastic container and flatten the surface.

(YMMV): Microwave on full intensity, uncovered for 2 minutes. Immediately set for another minute. Let cool slightly in the container, then remove and flip over to give the bottom a chance to try out slightly as it cools. * I have amassed a few cold cuts container that work very well as mini 3.5 x 5" microwave loaf pans (about 3.5" tall?) , and also have some terrible Dollar Store containers of the same size (terrible because the lid won't seal properly, but who cares given how they're used).

bottom of page