top of page

Fall Flavors #1: The Apple Spice Proatcake

Jen led the way on this flavor but as tantalizing as her pictures were, it took me ages to try this. Not sure why: sautéeing fruit, too hard? I am extremely glad I did. It is so good that Nate ate some happily - twice, and he is absolutely not on board with any other oat fiber product I have made. Heck, I even brought some for my students to try, as some had requested "healthy"options (upon further prodding, they meant low calorie). The small bites I made disappeared in record time. Cue musings on the social responsibility of putting these very low-calorie recipes out there, particularly as I consider the vulnerability of the population. Thoughts?

Look at the size of that bad boy. You *could* eat it all, but I seriously advise against it. That's a massive dose of erythritol.

- To a batch of the basic whey-protein enhanced oat cake , add 1/4 t cinnamon and about 1/8 t nutmeg (I like some mace, too). - Peel, core, and dice two medium baking apples or one large (you're aiming for 8 oz of apples). Saute these in a non-stick pan, with 20g erythritol mixed with some sort of brown sugar product if you have it, until slightly softened. Let cool slightly, fold into your proatcake batter and bake!

I've had good success with anywhere between 6 to 10 oz apples, and find these need to bake 5-10 minutes longer than a basic loaf.

The darker loaf (it's my cheap vanilla extract) had about 7 oz apples and was a bit more done at 45. The lighter loaf (on the right) had 10 oz apples, and was also pulled at 45 minutes - too soon as you can tell from the top that sank slightly, but deliciously moist.

bottom of page